Monday, April 4, 2016

Parts of Medicare

The Parts of Medicare

There are four parts of Medicare:
  1. Part A which pays for hospital care.
  2. Part B which pays for medical care, like doctor visits.
  3. Part C which is also called the Medicare Advantage program. 
  4. Part D which covers prescription medications. 
Part A and Part B of Medicare are administered by the Federal government.  Together they are called "Original Medicare".

You can buy Part C/Medicare Advantage coverage from private companies. Medicare Advantage plans combine Part A and Part B and may offer prescription drug coverage.  The plans can also include additional benefits like eye care, hearing, wellness services and a nurse hotline.

Medicare Advantage plans are area specific, meaning you must live in the plan's service area.  To apply for these plans, you must be enrolled in Part A and Part B.

Part D helps pay for prescription drugs.  It is only offered through private insurance companies.  Part D plans can be standalone or be part of a Medicare Advantage plan. To apply for a standalone plan, you must be enrolled in Part A and/or Part B.

If you are confused about the coverage options with Medicare and when you can make changes, give us a call at 614-889-0934.

No comments:

Post a Comment